Last week, on a whim, I decided I needed an adventure. And so, I applied for a Frontier Airlines credit card and used my free signup miles to book a plane ticket to Alaska, where I’ll spend two and a half months of my summer with soul sister, Alayne Tetor. I depart on June 4th, barely two weeks after I made the decision to go.

My boss was shocked at the quick decision. “You’re leaving June 4th?! Holy hell,” he exclaimed. “But I’m giving you two weeks!” I insisted.

My roommates took it a little better. “So, I’ll put that Craigslist ad up right away,” Kelly responded. Fortunately my current room-in-a-house situation is month to month, without a lease, and with a group of fun older people who believe strongly in finding, and following, your destiny. “What an adventure!” she mused.

“You know, Homer isn’t right in the mountains,” Alayne warned me as we hashed out plans. “I know it,” I replied, “but honestly, Alayne, I’m so hungry for something new I don’t even care. And besides, I’ll be able to see the mountains from Homer…”

I’ve never been to Alaska, know very little of Homer besides what Alayne and Google have told me (fishing town of 5,000, home of the Homer Spit, southwest side of the Kenai Penninsula, artist and intellectual hub, barely reaches 75 degrees all summer), and there’s something about not knowing that is incredibly exhilarating. I can honestly say I have no idea what shape the summer will take.

Of course there are practical considerations at hand: I need to find a job, for starters. I have a handful of leads at restaurants in Homer, and Alayne has a few ideas up her sleeve. Finding work isn’t my biggest concern; even if the job sucks I’m still living in Alaska and only need to hack it out for two months.

Then there are the fun considerations: glacier skiing, salmon fishing, blackberry pie baking, wilderness exploring, hopping a plane to Juneau, a ferry to Ketchikan, experiencing an entire 24 hours of sunlight, making art and inspired writing, being immersed in all of the beauty and hugeness of the Great White North.

Of course, I have asked myself  ‘why do this?’. And I tell myself, because it’s there.

And then I ask myself ‘why not?’. I can’t think of one single reason not to.

Homer, AK, curtesy of bayrealtyhomes.com

Homer, AK, courtesy of bayrealtyhomes.com

